Speakers Announced

Leavers of Greater Manchester are pleased to confirm an impressive list of speakers for the culmination of the march.

Paul Embery Firefighter trade unionistPaul Embery, Trade unionist & journalist is a fierce democrat. He was recently removed from his Fire Brigades Union post for speaking in a personal capacity, as a democrat, at the Leaver rally, London on 31st March 2019. Kate Hoey MP writes about this episode here, describing Matt Wrack's actions (General Secretary of the FBU)  as, 'spiteful..and an attack on democracy itself'.  Paul shared a platform with Kate Hoey MP, Brendan O'Neill, Claire Fox, Nigel Farage arguing for the enactment of the Brexit Vote, as Teresa May extended our membership at exactly the time we should have left. Paul contributes to UnHerd 

Brendan ChiltonBrendan Chilton is a Labour Councillor from Kent and a former Parliamentary Candidate. He was head of the Labour Leave campaign during the EU Referendum and remains its General Secretary, working closely with the Labour donor John Mills.  Brendan is a contributing writer to the website, BrexitCentral

Brendan O'NeillBrendan O'Neill is “One of the world's funniest and fiercest critics of groupthink.” (Andrew Bolt). He is the editor of spiked, the magazine that wants to make history as well as report it, and is a columnist for The Big Issue in London and The Australian in, er, Australia. He also blogs for the Daily Telegraph and has written for a variety of publications in both Europe and America. He is the author of Can I Recycle My Granny And 39 Other Eco-Dilemmas, published by Hodder & Stoughton and described by the BBC as a “skidmark on the gusset of environmentalism”, and he is currently researching a book on snobbery. He has five brothers, was the first person to complete the ZX Spectrum game Rasputin, and is the only journalist to have written for both the Catholic Herald and Abortion Review.

Sir Graham Brady MPSir Graham Brady, the Conservative MP for Altringham & Sale was born in Salford in 1967. He was educated at Altrincham Grammar School and Durham University where he studied law. In 2010 he was elected Chairman of the 1922 Committee which represents the interests of backbench Conservative MPs. Graham was voted Backbencher of the Year by the Spectator magazine. Most recently famous as the man who held the votes, counting them in and out, as Conservative MPs challenged Teresa May's leadership in secret ballot.

Henin Overgaard Nielson MEPHenrik Overgaard-Nielsen was elected Brexit Party MEP for North West England at the 2019 European election. He is an NHS dentist and a trade union representative who is a Danish national. He was Co-Chair of the ‘No’ campaign during the Danish referendum on the Maastricht Treaty in 1992. Henrik brings his own Danish experience of the EU's 'democratic deficit' and desire to diminish national democracy on the alter of inexorable Brussels centralisation power. He is a contributing writer to Brexit Central

Register for the March - Help us make it better!

Organising a march is a challenge. Liaison with Greater Manchester Police, advising on expected numbers to address safety issues, ensure the march is as successful as can be, requires cooperation.  You can help us! Please register for free, to indicate your intention to attend the march.
Your assistance is greatly appreciated

Register here by clicking this link on Eventbrite


Help £££Fund our March!  

Planning and organising our democracy march takes a lot of effort, hard work and time. We need resources and it massively helps when people chip in small donations. Your financial help buys leaflets to promote our pro Brexit groups, activities and the march. We can buy flags, whistles, posters and banners to get the message to the largest audiences possible.  Your support is vital! 

Click here to DONATE  19th October 2019 March for Democracy